The Ember Times - Issue No. 183

– By Chris Ng, Amy Lam

👋 Emberistas! 🐹

New release of Unstable Ember Language Server, share code snippets on Twitter using Ember, the difference between ember serve and npm run start, and an addon roundup!


Release of uELS v2.0.16 ✅

Unstable Ember Language Server is a fully featured fork of Ember Language Server. While the name says unstable it actually has been stable and ready to use for day-to-day development!

Thanks to both Alex LaFroscia (@alexlafroscia) and Alex Kanunnikov (@lifeart) for new version release which provides:

  • Support workspace/didChangeConfiguration event
  • Improved startup speed by delaying template tokenization
  • Autocomplete now use global registry and file change events, not fs lookup, but we still do fs lookup on project initialization
  • Added template-lint severity support
  • Improved template-linting speed

Try out uELS today by installing over Open VSX or Visual Studio Marketplace!


Share code snippets on Twitter using Ember 🐦

Do you want to share demos, gifs, or code snippets on Twitter? Try limber.glimdown.com from @NullVoxPopuli, built with Ember! Code snippets on limber.glimdown.com can be copied as text or images. Check out how it works on Twitter.


The difference between ember serve and npm run start 🖥

Jesse Jordan (@jayjayjpg) blogged about some subtle differences between npm run start and ember serve, inspired by this question on StackOverflow. Even when using nvm, there can be some dependency gotchas with globally installed packages. Check out Jesse's dev.to post for more info.


Addon roundup 🌐


Contributors' corner 👏

This week we'd like to thank Tim (@fozy81), Jaco Joubert (@jacojoubert), Sara Cope (@saracope), James Herdman (@jherdman), Chris Ng (@chrisrng), Isaac Lee (@ijlee2), Hanna (she/her) (@hannakim91), Jared Galanis (@jaredgalanis), Prakash Choudhary (@prakashchoudhary07), Chris Garrett (@pzuraq), Dave Laird (@kiwiupover), Giles Thompson (@gilest), Amy Lam (@amyrlam), Anne-Greeth van Herwijnen (@MinThaMie), Esquith Allen (@esquith), Luke Ingalls (@lukeingalls), Robert Wagner (@rwwagner90), Ankush Dharkar (@ankushdharkar), Chris Krycho (@chriskrycho), Chirag Patel (@chiragpat), Sumit Dhanania (@sumitd94), and Chris Manson (@mansona) for their contributions to Ember and related repositories! 💖


Connect with us 🤓

Office Hours Tomster Mascot

Wondering about something related to Ember, Ember Data, Glimmer, or addons in the Ember ecosystem, but don't know where to ask? Readers’ Questions are just for you!

Submit your own short and sweet question under bit.ly/ask-ember-core. And don’t worry, there are no silly questions, we appreciate them all - promise! 🤞

Want to write for the Ember Times? Have a suggestion for next week's issue? Join us at #support-ember-times on the Ember Community Discord or ping us @embertimes on Twitter.

Keep on top of what's been going on in Emberland this week by subscribing to our e-mail newsletter! You can also find our posts on the Ember blog. See you in two weeks!


That's another wrap! ✨

Be kind,

Chris Ng, Amy Lam, and the Learning Team