The Ember Times - Issue No. 167

๐Ÿ‘‹ Emberistas! ๐Ÿน

New Release and APIs for ember-a11y-testing ๐ŸŽ‰, two deprecation RFCs merged ๐Ÿ™Œ, new Octane ready release of the a11y focused ember-select-light ๐Ÿ”ฆ, and last, but not least, ember-key-manager v1.0.0 โŒจ๏ธ!


Release 4.0.0 of ember-a11y-testing ๐ŸŽ‰

Steve Calvert (@scalvert) released 4.0.0 of ember-a11y-testing which included changes to the API to make it hands off in terms of running accessibility audits. The ember-a11y-testing library is a wrapper around Deque Labs' axe-core accessibility testing engine. It integrates into your testing environment using either a one-time setup, or in individual tests using an a11yAudit() test helper.

With the new 4.0.0 release, you can do audit of your code using the regular test helper APIs by importing the setupGlobalA11yHooks function and invoking it in tests/test-helper.js. The setupGlobalA11yHooks function lets you write your own strategy on when to invoke the audit using the shouldAudit argument so you can run it all the time, for all the configured helpers, every n tests, for specific modules or test names, by route, etc.

Read more about the new changes to ember-a11y-testing on GitHub!


Two deprecation RFCs merged ๐Ÿ™Œ

On November 6th, the Ember framework team met to discuss RFC 673: Deprecate tryInvoke and RFC 674: Deprecate transition methods of controller and route. The team decided to move both RFCs forward to the Accepted stage, which will allow the author and others to work on implementation.

We'd like to extend our thanks to Bach Vo (@bachvo) and Jeldrik Hanschke (@jelhan) for designing their RFCs and addressing the community's feedback. For more information, please visit the links to the RFCs above.


Release 2.0.x of ember-select-light ๐Ÿ”ฆ

Ava Wroten (@hergaiety) released 2.0.0 of ember-select-light. You will find that the addon has moved to the ember-a11y org (join us on Discord in #dev-ember-a11y) and is Octane ready.

ember-select-light is a simple and accessible <select> dropdown component โœจ. With its API, you can pass in a flat or nested array of options, or yield out to your template code that handles options. The component pairs nicely with the latest ember-component-patterns for Select Elements.

The 2.0.0 release drops support for older versions of Node and Ember. At minimum, Node v10 LTS and Ember.js v3.16 LTS are suggested. It also introduces some breaking syntax changes (see the upgrade guide). Lastly, documentation has been updated.

Read more about the new changes to ember-select-light on GitHub!


ember-key-manager v1.0.0 โŒจ๏ธ

ember-key-manager is a service for un(binding) key up and down events. Bryan Crotaz (@BryanCrotaz) submitted a PR that brought IcarusWorks/ember-key-manager up to v1.0.0! With the major release, ember-key-manager now fully supports Octane, including template modifiers that can hook key presses to run component code. Learn more about ember-key-manager and similar addons under the Keyboard Events tag on Ember Observer.


Contributors' corner ๐Ÿ‘

This week we'd like to thank Jan Bobisud (@bobisjan), Mehul Kar (@mehulkar), Raido Kuli (@raido), Lionel Viet (@Leooo), Ava Gaiety Wroten (@hergaiety), Edward Faulkner (@ef4), Yyee (@Ian-Yy), James Herdman (@jherdman), Ricardo Mendes (@locks), Volodymyr Radchenko (@rreckonerr), Spencer Claxton (@sclaxton), Joshua Lawrence (@jwlawrence), Chris Garrett (@pzuraq), Jen Weber (@jenweber), Haruka Asakura (@mk2), Luke Melia (@lukemelia), Marco Otte-Witte (@marcoow), Joan Piedra (@neojp), Chirag Patel (@chiragpat), Robert Wagner (@rwwagner90), Bryan Mishkin (@bmish), Esteban Arango Medina (@esbanarango), @ratatatCat, Sergey Astapov (@SergeAstapov), Godfrey Chan (@chancancode), James C. Davis (@jamescdavis), Igor Terzic (@igorT), Amy Lam (@amyrlam), Boris Petrov (@boris-petrov), Vivek Pandey (@vvkpd), Thomas Wang (@xg-wang), Ryan Duryea (@aguynamedryan), Chris Manson (@mansona), @JamesS-M, Ben Demboski (@bendemboski), Ryan Mark (@tylerturdenpants), Steve Calvert (@scalvert), John Bryson (@jbryson3), Chris Ng (@chrisrng), Andrew A Lee (@drewlee), Katie Gengler (@kategengler), Robert Jackson (@rwjblue), and Isaac Lee (@ijlee2) for their contributions to Ember and related repositories! ๐Ÿ’–


Connect with us ๐Ÿค“

Office Hours Tomster Mascot

Wondering about something related to Ember, Ember Data, Glimmer, or addons in the Ember ecosystem, but don't know where to ask? Readersโ€™ Questions are just for you!

Submit your own short and sweet question under bit.ly/ask-ember-core. And donโ€™t worry, there are no silly questions, we appreciate them all - promise! ๐Ÿคž

Want to write for the Ember Times? Have a suggestion for next week's issue? Join us at #support-ember-times on the Ember Community Discord or ping us @embertimes on Twitter.

Keep on top of what's been going on in Emberland this week by subscribing to our e-mail newsletter! You can also find our posts on the Ember blog.


That's another wrap! โœจ

Be kind,

Ava Wroten, Chris Ng, Isaac Lee, Amy Lam and the Learning Team